Inexpensive British real estate?

Home Forums Forum Assets and Investments Inexpensive British real estate?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Brian Dellinger

I thought about writing a blog post about this subject, but decided a blog post implied at least some degree of knowledge, and I don’t have enough to qualify for that. So I’ll just make more of a forum post/rant. I have a certain degree of interest in Great Britain. For all of the bad things one might say about Europe, its politics, etc., I’ve quite enjoyed my visits to London. I’ve found the London (and British) property market fascinating. As most of you are aware, London property is some of the most expensive in the world. For example, for fun thought experiments, the last couple of trips I took, while there I looked for apartments for sale that were roughly in the same neighborhood and similar size and state of repair.

A few years ago when I stayed in the Earl’s Court area, I was in a slightly dated one bedroom, decent location, a little tired but overall ok. Probably 500 square feet. Some in the building ate heavy foreign foods and so the hallways and common areas had a slightly unpleasant smell. There was close access to a Tube station, safe location, but it wasn’t a prime tourist spot. I believe the units I found like the one which I rented were $400k-$500k.

The following year I stayed in the Holland Park area, definitely more upscale, better building, nicer flat, etc. My apartment was actually a bit smaller but was nicer overall. Prices to purchase for a unit were even higher.